CBN-MC Youth Coaches Hall of Fame

Each year, CBN-MC gathers to honor a group of youth athletic coaches who have made extraordinary contributions to CYO and other youth athletic programs over the years.

In order to be considered for this award, each honoree must have at least five years of volunteer experience in CYO and other youth sports programs. The award luncheon is held at the Georgetown Preparatory School Hanley Center for Athletic Excellence. The featured speakers have been a who's who of Washington, D.C.-area sports personalities including: Mark Turgeon, men's basketball coach at the University of Maryland; Steve Howes, men’s basketball coach at the Catholic University; Mike Lonagran, mens basketball coach at George Washington University; Rick “Doc” Walker, Washington Redskin; Jimmy Patsos, mens basketball coach Loyola University; Bruce Kelly, McDonald’s All-America coach; and Johnny Holliday, broadcaster.

Award Winners


  • Missy Carr
  • Jim Clark
  • Dan Howley


  • Kerry Durst, St. Raphael
  • Roger Kimiecik, St. Mary's 
  • Jack McGuinness, Little Flower


  • David Long, Our Lady of Lourdes
  • Kirk Bell, St. Raphael
  • Howard Blue, Washington Jesuit Academy


  • Claire Hannan, St. Mary's
  • Mike Landi, St. John the Baptist
  • Vince Teis, St. Bartholomew


  • Gerry Blackwell, St. Mary's
  • Patrick Connaughton, St. Martin
  • Joe Roach, St. Elizabeth


  • Dan Barry, Little Flower
  • Bob Hartwick, St. Peter
  • John Holmes, St. Ann


  • Michael Crilley, Blessed Sacrament
  • Gil Digioa, St. Elizabeth
  • Jack Railey, Blessed Sacrament


  • Chris Kernan, St. Ann
  • Steve McCartin, St. Bernadette
  • Frank Perry, St. Mary


  • Rick Baumgartner, St. Bernadette
  • Carl Wilkerson, St. Jane de Chantal
  • Kevin Dowd, St. Elizabeth


  • Patti and Eddie Ribas, St. Jude
  • John J. McCarthy, St. John the Baptist
  • Rory S. Coakley, Chair of CBN-MC Youth Coaches Hall of Fame (2000-2007)


  • Buddy Burkhead, Metro Police Boys & Girls Club, St. Albans, and DeMatha High School
  • Gregory Dyer, St. Jane de Chantal, Holy Redeemer, The Apostles, and founder, Victory Youth Centers


  • Thom J. Manco, Archdiocese of Washington CYO Athletic Program


  • Christopher Newkumet, St. John the Evangelist
  • Peter White, Boys Club and American Legion Baseball
  • Jim Hodgson, Blessed Sacrament and St. Elizabeth


  • Dorry Barry, St. Bernadette
  • Paul G. Hunter, Bethany Beach, DE
  • Jack Campbell, Shrine of St. Jude


  • Jim Kernan, St. Ann
  • Michael and Nora Giller, St. Catherine Labouré
  • James R. Kuzma, Shrine of St. Jude


  • Donald L. Hathway, St. Jane de Chantal
  • Bill Taylor, St. Anthony Parish
  • Jack Buchanan, Holy Redeemer
  • Patricia Langworthy, Girls and Young Women


  • Jaennie M. Ridgway, St. John the Baptist and St. Elizabeth
  • Cal Bowser, Shrine of St. Jude
  • Jerry Miller, Shrine of St. Jude and St. Bernadette
  • Kenneth LaVern, Maplewood Sports Association

About CBN-MC

The Catholic Business Network of Montgomery County, CBN-MC, is an independent, non-profit organization of businesses and individual professionals working together to support Catholic education in Montgomery County Maryland.

continue “About Us” »

Contact Us

CBN-MC, Inc.
P.O. Box 34549
Bethesda, MD 20827 · email